Herricks Students honored at October board meeting

The Island Now
Herricks High School’s National Merit Semifinalists were recognized at the Oct. 5 Board Meeting. (Photos courtesy of Herricks Public Schools)

Fino Celano, Superintendent of Schools, and Herricks Public Schools Board of Education members congratulated seven National Merit Semifinalists and a number of talented and accomplished musicians at the Oct. 5 meeting.

Many musicians, including those selected to All-State ensembles, were honored at the Herricks Board of Education’s Oct. 5 Meeting. (Photos courtesy of Herricks Public Schools)

Aashna Brahmbhatt, Caitlin Chou, Nicole Garcia, Jonathan Lum, Nicolas Ryan, Brian Yang and Andrea Yeung were applauded for earning the outstanding National Merit Semifinalist accomplishment.

Mikayla Chan, Esme Chen, Elyssa Corona, Jazlynn Fok, Grace Kang, Austin Kim, Christina Kim, Joseph Kim, Kelly Kim, Shazim Lakhani, Joanna Lau, Winston Liu, Christopher Lo, Angelyn Loh, Spencer Ng, Alexandra Tan, Andrew Tsai, Darren Yang, Hanna Yen and Ju Young Yi were selected to All-State music ensembles.

Mikayla Chan was recognized as a Scholar Artist Award of Merit recipient. (Photos courtesy of Herricks Public Schools)

Mikayla was also honored as a Scholar Artist Award of Merit recipient from the Long Island Arts Alliance, and Jazlynn and Chiara Tan were congratulated for their acceptance into the 2017 NYSSMA Piano Showcase.

Share this Article