Willets Road, Wheatley students win big at Long Island National History Day

The Island Now
Wheatley winners along with their National History Day advisors and teachers.

Students from Willets Road School and The Wheatley School performed exceptionally well at this year’s Long Island History Day competition, with 26 projects winning awards, including 6 first place and 8 second place recognitions!

At the competition, students competed against their peers from across Long Island in preparing and presenting historical exhibits, documentaries, performances, websites, and papers. These projects require a great deal of planning, research, organization, and creativity.

East Williston School District is excited to share that the 26 winning students from the local competition will advance to New York State History Day this spring. This is an incredible accomplishment and we wish the following winners the best of luck as they move on to the state-wide competition later this spring.

Congratulations Maliha Bhalloo (1st Place), Shannon Flachner (2nd Place), Safa Sayeed (4th Place), Cooper Lam (6th Place), Violet Brush (2nd Place), Willow Grosskopf (1st Place), Sadie Keys, Shruti Singh and Zayneb Zafar (4th Place), Max Melnikov (1st Place), Eleni Daskalakis (2nd Place), Madeline Rong (1st Place), Alyssa Bhagan and Nicole Shalomov (2nd Place), Josephine Choe and Alexandra Lew (5th Place), Ritika Kaur and Lauren Shin (6th Place), Adriana Petrizzo and Alaina Pinto (2nd Place), Sonia Patel (1st Place), Skylar Goldberg (2nd Place), Charlotte Iannone (1st Place), Alex Ofsie (2nd Place), Hailey Lessen (6th Place), Annelise Belle (2nd Place), Maahir Kasliwal (3rd Place), Grant Callahan (4th Place), Manav Bansal, Yanjun Lin, and Daniel Solomon (3rd Place), Lauren Hackett, Victoria Potrapeluk, and Jaina Shah (4th Place), and Divya Singh, Garima Jain, and Leah Varghese (5th Place).

Thank you to Wheatley library media specialist, Jo Beth Roberts and Willets Road Social Studies teacher, Patrick Shanahan, who guided students through all steps of the National History Day process and to our Director of Social Studies and Real World Learning, Wayne Jensen, for his support of the program.

Many thanks as well to Wheatley Social Studies teachers Andrew Ardito, Courtney Clarke, Dr. Sean Lazarus, and Justin Portente, and to Willets Road library media specialist Karen Homer, and to Willets Road teaching assistant Jerry Pokrykwa for working with students as they prepared their projects, and to the social studies department for their roles in judging the district-wide competition.

A special congratulations also goes to Ms. Roberts, for her nomination as Patricia Behring Teacher of the Year award in the senior division for the 2021 New York State National History Day contest. The award is sponsored by Patricia Behring in recognition of the pivotal role teachers play in the lives of students.

About the author

The Island Now

Share this Article