Village incumbents go 17 for 17

Rich Jacques

Great Neck village candidates were 17 for 17 in bids for re-election Tuesday – not an unexpected outcome when 17 people run unopposed.

The closest thing to drama in the six village elections held March 15 was in Russell Gardens, Great Neck Plaza and Great Neck Estates, which featured candidates who received a few write-in votes.

In the Village of Thomaston, longtime Mayor Robert Stern was re-elected to two-year term with 44 votes. Incumbent Trustees Gary Noren and Steven Weinberg received 45 and 44 votes respectively.

Stern said there are advantages to having such a large number of incumbents returning to their positions on the Great Neck peninsula.

“I appreciate experience coupled with enthusiasm, it’s the most wonderful thing in the world,” said Stern.

Facing a slight challenge from three apartment-dwelling write-in contestants, Village of Russell Gardens incumbent Mayor Matthew Bloomfield was re-elected to a two-year term with 240 votes. Incumbent Trustees Martin Adickman and Jane Krakauer were re-elected to two-year terms with 242 and 241 votes respectively.

Write-in Russell Gardens candidates Leonard Goldstein, Ted Miroe and David Rosenburg received 30, 26 and 28 votes respectively.

In the Village of Great Neck Plaza, incumbent trustees Gerald Schneiderman and Marion Green were elected to two-year terms, receiving 191 and 193 votes respectively. Receiving 195 votes, incumbent Village Justice Neil Finkston, was re-elected for a four-year term. Write-in trustee candidates Michael Glickman and Stu Hochron received 2 and 1 vote respectively.

In Great Neck Estates, Mayor David Fox was re-elected to a two-year term with 56 votes. Incumbent trustees William Warner and Sidney Krugman received 56 and 54 votes respectively. Marc Seidenberg received 2 votes as a write-in candidate. Village Justice Harold Hoffman was elected to a four-year term with 54 votes.

In the Village of Kensington, Trustees Gail Strongwater and Alina Hendler each received 22 votes and were elected to two-year terms.

In the Village of Saddle Rock, incumbent J. Leonard Symansky was elected to his eleventh term as mayor with 34 votes. Incumbent Trustees Mark Collins and Dan Levy were elected to two-year terms with 33 and 35 votes respectively. Village Justice Leonard Lorin was elected to a four-year term with 35 votes.

About the author

Rich Jacques

Share this Article