Roslyn Harbor mayor to step down at end of term

Noah Manskar And Joe Nikic

Two Roslyn-area villages could see some shifts on their Boards of Trustees in March, but another three boards will likely remain unchanged.

Village of Roslyn Harbor Deputy Mayor Louis Badolato is running to replace Mayor David Mandell, who is stepping down from his post at the end of his term.

Mandell was appointed to the office in late 2012 after former Mayor Yvette Edidin resigned. He won an uncontested March 2013 special election to serve out the rest of the term.

With Badolato’s trustee seat open, Roslyn Harbor resident Jasun Fiorentino is running for a spot on the board. Incumbent Trustee Jeremy Rosof is also running for re-election.

Any other candidates have until Feb. 9 to file a candidacy petition with signatures from 45 Roslyn Harbor residents.

Voters will cast ballots March 15 at Village Hall at 500 Motts Cove Road S.

As reported in January, two Village of East Hills trustees face challenges this year.

Civic activist Jana Goldenberg and village Board of Appeals alternate Neil Foster will oppose incumbent Deputy Mayor Manny Zuckerman and Trustee Clara Pomerantz.

Running on the Residents Party line, Goldenberg and Foster said they aim to be a voice for residents and effect change on the Village Board.

“It’s not about the other trustees. All we want is this is time for change,” Goldenberg said in January. “There’s nothing about these other trustees, they’re residents and they’re friends. It’s not about what they did and didn’t do, it’s about change, that’s it.”

Goldenberg has said she was instrumental in securing a partnership between East Hills and National Grid to extend village gas lines at no cost to any resident that chooses to convert to gas service from oil, but she was not invited to a September press conference announcing it.

Zuckerman was first elected as a trustee in 2000, having previously served as president of the Nob Hill/Lakeville Estates Unified Civic Association for 10 years. Koblenz selected him as deputy mayor in 2010.

He currently chairs the village’s Security Commission, which was resurrected after two East Hills homes saw violent thefts a week apart in December.

Pomerantz was appointed to her trustee seat in 2010 after former Trustee Linda Nathanson moved to Florida. She retained it in a 2011 special election and 2012 general election.

She touted efforts to secure grants and funding to help freeze village taxes every year for the past six years.

Koblenz said last month he supports Zuckerman and Pomerantz.

“I want to continue the great work we’ve been doing,” Zuckerman said. “Right now the village is in the best position it has ever been in the history of the village.”

East Hills voters will cast ballots March 15 at the Theater at the Park at East Hills. Other candidates have until Feb. 9 to file petitions.

The Village of Flower Hill will see races for its mayoral seat, three trustee seats and a Village Justice seat up for election. 

Village Administrator Ronnie Shatzkamer said she had not received official petitions as of Tuesday from Mayor Elaine Phillips, trustees Randall Rosenbaum, Karen Reichenbach and Gary Lewandowski and acting Village Justice Dennis Reisman. 

Shatzkamer said all seats were for two-year terms except for Reisman’s, a four-year term. 

She also said she hadn’t heard of any talk from residents about challenging candidates. 

Candidates must submit a petition with 50 resident signatures before Feb. 9 to run for a board seat.

Voting will take place at Village Hall at 1 Bonnie Heights Road from noon to 9 p.m.

Elections in the Villages of Roslyn and Roslyn Estates are so far uncontested.

Roslyn Deputy Mayor Marshall Bernstein and Trustee Craig Westergard are both running for re-election.

Bernstein has served on the Board of Trustees since 1995. Westergard was first elected in 2000.

Both won their most recent two-year terms in unopposed 2014 bids.

Roslyn voters will cast ballots March 15 at Village Hall at 1200 Old Northern Blvd.

Roslyn Estates Trustees Brian Feingold and Sandy Joel Siff will run unopposed to retain their seats.

Feingold and Siff have served on the board for 10 and 12 years, respectively. They also ran unopposed in 2014.

Roslyn voters will cast ballots March 15 at Village Hall at 25 The Tulips.

Other candidates in both villages have until Feb. 9 to file petitions.

About the author

Noah Manskar And Joe Nikic

Share this Article