Roslyn Estates left with an open seat as trustee decides not to seek reelection

Adedamola Agboola

Roslyn Estates Trustee Sandy Joel Siff has declined to run for re-election, but no candidate has stepped forward to run his spot in the March 15 election.

Both Siff and Trustee Brian Feingold had until Tuesday to file with the village to run again. Only Feingold filed.

Village clerk Bryan Rivera said the village would wait to see if there are any write-in candidates on election day.

If there are no write-in candidates, someone could be appointed by the Board of Trustees, Rivera said.

Roslyn Estates voters will cast ballots March 15 at Village Hall at 25 The Tulips.

Roslyn Estates will be joined by the Village of Roslyn Harbor in a change in leadership.

Roslyn Harbor Deputy Mayor Louis Badolato is running to replace Mayor David Mandell, who is stepping down from his post at the end of his term.

Mandell was appointed to the office in late 2012 after former Mayor Yvette Edidin resigned. He won an uncontested March 2013 special election to serve out the rest of the term.

With Badolato’s trustee seat open, Roslyn Harbor resident Jasun Fiorentino is running for a spot on the board. Incumbent Trustee Jeremy Rosof is also running for re-election.

Voters will cast ballots March 15 at Village Hall at 500 Motts Cove Road South.

The Village of East Hills could also see a change as civic activist Jana Goldenberg and village Board of Appeals alternate Neil Foster will oppose incumbent Deputy Mayor Manny Zuckerman and Trustee Clara Pomerantz.

But incumbents in the villages of Flower Hill and Roslyn face no opposition on the ballot.

Running on the Residents Party line, Goldenberg and Foster said they aim to be a voice for residents and effect change on the East Hills board.

“It’s not about the other trustees. All we want is this is time for change,” Goldenberg said in January. “There’s nothing about these other trustees, they’re residents and they’re friends. It’s not about what they did and didn’t do, it’s about change, that’s it.”

Goldenberg has said she was instrumental in securing a partnership between East Hills and National Grid to extend village gas lines at no cost to any resident that chooses to convert to gas service from oil, but she was not invited to a September press conference announcing it.

Zuckerman was first elected as a trustee in 2000, having previously served as president of the Nob Hill/Lakeville Estates Unified Civic Association for 10 years. Koblenz selected him as deputy mayor in 2010.

He currently chairs the village’s Security Commission, which was resurrected after two East Hills homes saw violent thefts a week apart in December.

Pomerantz was appointed to her trustee seat in 2010 after former Trustee Linda Nathanson moved to Florida. She retained it in a 2011 special election and 2012 general election.

She touted efforts to secure grants and funding to help freeze village taxes every year for the past six years.

Koblenz said last month he supports Zuckerman and Pomerantz.

“I want to continue the great work we’ve been doing,” Zuckerman said. “Right now the village is in the best position it has ever been in the history of the village.”

East Hills voters will cast ballots March 15 at the Theater at the Park at East Hills.

The Village of Flower Hill will also see an unopposed race as Mayor Elaine Phillips, Trustee Karen Reichenbach, Trustee Gary Lewandowski, Trustee Randall Rosenbaum and Village Justice Dennis Reisman all seek another term in office. Reisman, also ran unopposed in 2014 when he was appointed in 2014 to replace Justice Bruce Byrne, who retired after 40 years in the village.

Village Administrator Ronnie Shatzkamer said all seats were for two-year terms except for Reisman’s, which is a four-year term.

Voting will take place at Village Hall at 1 Bonnie Heights Road from noon to 9 p.m.

The Village of Roslyn election will see Deputy Mayor Marshall Bernstein and Trustee Craig Westergard run for re-election unopposed.

Bernstein has served on the Board of Trustees since 1995. Westergard was first elected in 2000.

Both won their most recent two-year terms in unopposed 2014 bids.

Roslyn voters will cast ballots March 15 at Village Hall at 1200 Old Northern Blvd.



Share this Article