Noone, Sabino win Munsey Park trustee seats

Amelia Camurati
Residents for a Better Munsey Park candidates Anthony Sabino and incumbent Jennifer Noone were elected to fill two Munsey Park trustee seats. (Photos courtesy of Anthony Sabino and Jennifer Noone)

Hundreds of Munsey Park residents went to the polls Tuesday in a highly contested village  election for two trustee seats. Trustee Jennifer Noone and attorney Anthony Sabino, both running on the Residents for a Better Munsey Park ticket, were elected with 321 and 316 votes respectively.

Noone will serve her third term after being elected in 2014.

Challengers Brian Dunning and Nathy Yakaitis, both attorneys, received 275 votes and 269 votes respectively.

In total, 596 ballots were cast in the village election.

“Nathy and I congratulate Jen and Anthony for yesterday’s win in the election,” Dunning said Wednesday morning. “They fought hard, and they obviously care about what they’re doing. We hope that they took to heart the things we campaigned on and that they try very hard to ensure that good governance becomes a focus of the next year in the village.”

Village Justice John Turano, who was running unopposed, received 461 votes.

Former Deputy Mayor John Lippmann opted not to run for re-election after two terms.

In the Village of Plandome, Deputy Mayor Ray Herbert received 38 votes and Trustee Andrew Bartels received 39 votes.

Village Clerk Barbara Peebles said one write-in vote was also cast. 

Bartels was appointed to the board in 2011 to finish the term of the late Trustee Peter Kenny and was elected to a full two-year term in 2012.

Herbert was first elected in 2002.

Plandome Heights Mayor Ken Riscica received 91 votes in his uncontested election.

Trustees Alvin Solomon, Dianne Sheehan and Silva Ferman, also running unopposed, were re-elected with 81, 92 and 90 votes respectively.

Riscica was first elected in 2012 after serving two two-year terms as trustee.

Solomon was first elected in 2006, and Ferman was elected in 2004.

Sheehan was elected to her first term in 2016 when former Trustee Lynee Aloia decided against seeking re-election.

In Plandome Manor, Trustees Tony DeSousa and Patricia O’Neill both received 12 votes in their elections.

In Flower Hill, Mayor Robert McNamara received 54 votes.

Trustee Kate Hirsch received 49, Trustee Randall Rosenbaum received 48 and Gary Lewandowski received 48 votes.

McNamara was appointed to the position in December 2016 after state Sen. Elaine Phillips was elected to fill the 7th District seat.

Share this Article