New student council leadership at Denton Avenue

The Island Now
Candidates for student council co-president at Denton Avenue. (Photo courtesy of Herricks Public Schools)

On Nov. 23, candidates for student council co-presidents at Denton Avenue Elementary School in the Herricks School District delivered speeches to their fellow students. Candidates were Isaac Abraham, Mario Cimino, AvaRose Joneleit, Jaden Mathew, Julia Persaud and Gavin Yeung.

Candidates expressed their vision for Denton Avenue and what positive changes they would put forth. Students were poised as they delivered thoughtful and dynamic speeches.

Fifth graders voiced their choices on the same day through the voting process. Congratulations to all who participated and to newly elected co-presidents Mario Cimino and Gavin Yeung.


Share this Article