Manhasset school budget process underway

Amelia Camurati
Manhasset officials, from left, Superintendent Vincent Butera, Trustee Ann Marie Curd, Trustee Christine Monterosso, President Regina Rule and Trustee Carlo Prinzo pose with students from Munsey Park School who are being honored for their kindness to others. (Photo courtesy of Manhasset school district)

Manhasset school district trustees began the budget process on Dec. 7, approving the calendar with multiple steps through the planned April 17 adoption date.

Deputy superintendent of finances Rosemary Johnson said the budget development process runs from Nov. 1 through April 17, including key dates, public hearings and assorted benchmarks to complete the process on time.

While trustees will vote on the budget in April, Johnson said there are three key dates for community members to remember: the budget work session at 9 a.m. March 10 and public hearings on March 22 at Shelter Rock School and April 12 at Munsey Park School, both at 8 p.m.

“We’re emphasizing the opportunity for the board and the community to weigh in on the items affecting on the budget,” Johnson said.

Johnson said the district had received the healthcare increases for 2018 and estimates an 8 percent increase for healthcare payments for the district. Healthcare expenses were approximately $803,286 for the 2016-17 school year, up from $441,566 for the 2009-10 budget.

“Health care for everyone continues to increase, so the numbers were quite high,” Johnson said.

According to the calendar, Johnson expects to receive property tax base growth factors for tax cap calculations by the end of the year.

Next year, the district will receive final state aid figures by April 1, final elementary sections for inclusion in the preliminary budget by Feb. 14 and final Teachers’ Retirement System contributions by Feb. 1.

At the April 17 meeting at 8 p.m. in the Charlie Cardillo Community Room, trustees are expected to adopt the budget as well as approve the property tax report card and the BOCES budget.

During the meeting, held at Munsey Park School, trustees also honored students for their kindness toward others and the school’s student council offers.

This school year’s student council officers are Luke Power as president, William Alnwick as Vice President, James Zublionis as secretary and Caroline Zublionis as sergeant at arms.

Students who were recognized for showing kindness to others include Ruby Cacioppo, Thomas Grygiel, Ethan Monteiro, Jack Morrison, Ada Shu, Colin Smith, Gabriella Waltos and Ewan Wang.

Student members of The Kindness Club include Taylor Amato, Julia Bittner, Lily Coniff, Anna Connolly, Ella Gutmann, Isabella Keating, Olivia Koch, Claire LaBenne, Ciara Loughlin, Liya Madhok, Shea Panzik, Mallory Pasqualo, Madeline Puma, Sonia Purani and Delaney Solon.

Share this Article