LWV virtual candidates’ forum Tuesday, Oct. 5

The Island Now

The League of Women Voters of Port Washington-Manhasset is proud to announce that it will once again host a virtual Candidates’ Forum on Tuesday, October 5, starting at 6 pm, for candidates running for local Town of North Hempstead and Nassau County offices.

Voters can learn more about their choices and ask questions before and during the forum from the comfort of their own home or anywhere with internet access.

All four forums will be live-streamed – and can later be replayed – from the LWV of PWM YouTube channel (youtube.com/c/LWVofPWM). Questions for specific candidates and sets of candidates can be submitted to the websites listed with each forum.

Town of North Hempstead Clerk – 6 PM
Viviana Russel (D) vs Ragini Srivastava (R)
Questions: bit.ly/LWV_TNH_Qs

Town of North Hempstead District 5 Council Member – 7:05 PM
David Adhami (R) vs Peter Fishkind (D)
Questions: bit.ly/LWV_TNH_Qs

Nassau County District 11 Legislator – 8:00 PM
Delia DeRiggi Whitton (D, Incumbent) vs Megan McCarty (R)
Questions: bit.ly/LWV_LegNC_Qs

Town of North Hempstead Supervisor – 9:15 PM
Jennifer DeSena (R) vs Wayne Wink (D)
Questions: bit.ly/LWV_NC_Qs

The Nassau County LWV plans to co-host a separate forum with LIU Post for candidates running for Nassau County District Attorney on Monday, October 11, at 7 PM. Details will follow.

For questions about the forums, contact LWV Voters Service Chair Judy Jacobson at judyhp@gmail.com or 516-627-0831.

Voters’ last chance to cast ballots for their favorites in person or by Absentee Ballot is Election Day, Tuesday, November 2, 6 AM – 9 PM ; but they can also do so on Early Election Days from October 23 to 31. October 18 is the last day to apply for an Absentee Ballot by mail, and November 1 is the last day to apply in person. More details are on the LWV website my.lwv.org/new-york/port-washington-manhasset and VOTE 411.org.

The League of Women Voters is a non-profit, non-partisan organization of both men and women, dedicated to promoting political responsibility through informed and active participation in government. New members are always welcome.

Share this Article