Herricks Association of Girl Scouts

The Island Now

On Friday, June 18 The Herricks Association of Girl Scouts had their recognition ceremony for their 2020 and 2021 gold and silver award recipients. The outdoor ceremony was held at Christ Lutheran Church in New Hyde Park.

The dignitaries that came was Town Clerk Wayne Wink, Assemblyman Ed Ra, Legislator Ellen Birnbaum, Jennifer Desena on behalf of Presiding Officer Rich Nicolello, Dennis Walsh Mineola Trustee on behalf of Andrew Ferrara, Town Council, Mayor of Williston Park Paul Ehrbar, Juleigh Chin from the Herricks Board of Ed Trustee and Herricks Superintendent of School, Dr. Fino Celano.

The Girl Scout Gold Award is the mark of the truly remarkable proof that not only can she make a difference, but that she already has. Seniors and Ambassadors who earn the Gold Award tackle issues that are dear to them and drive lasting change in their communities.

The 2020 Gold Award Recipients were: Kate Anne Baranello, Welcome to the Board (Troop 1501), Amanda Fishkin, Volley ball Clinic (Troop 1856),

Isabella Schneiderman, Creating opportunities (Troop 1501)

The 2021 Gold Award Recipients were:  Valerie Calandra, Learning Fun(Troop 1506), Mary Fernandez, “Not Me Too”(Troop 1505), Kayla Huang The Reality of Human Trafficking(Troop 1505), Amber Joneleit, Langue Immersion Volunteers(Troop 1506), Jessica Kopping, You Got a Friend in Me(Troop 1501), Jacqueline Manetta, Gluten Free Lunches in School Cafeterias(Troop 1501), Briana Ranallo, Confidence in Young Dances(Troop 1505), Charlotte Santosus, CHEC-Charlotte’s Horse Education Club(Troop 1501) Audrey Santosus, Always Prepared(Troop 1501), Jennifer Schmidt, Stress Less(Troop 1501), Kristal Soo, Hydroponic Gardening(Troop 1505), Emma Theodoropoulos, Healthy Dental Hygiene-Village in Peru(Troop 1501).

The Girl Scout Silver Award: When Girl Scout Cadettes focus on an issue that they care about, learn the facts, and take action to make a difference, they gain the confidence and skills that will help catapult them to lifelong success. It all adds up to the Girl Scout Silver Award-the highest honor a Cadette can achieve.

The 2020 Silver Award Recipients all from Troop 1106

Aieshah Asher, Drishti Patel, Yasmine Janda(Free Library at Herricks Community Center) Aishia Azekraoui, Elisabeth Baranello,Tiara Leo,Brianna Matthews, Madison Rizzo, (Bethany House bookcase and reading club) Anya Chen, Stephanie Crocevera,Serena Mei(Refurbishing the Girl Scout display at the Herricks Community Center)  Melina Helgeson,  Angelina Lasorsa, Katherine Murphy, Celine Yong (Painting house numbers on curbs in the Village of Williston Park) Katherine Piscopia, (Helping Seniors with memory loss and comfort items)



Share this Article