All Port Washington village candidates will return to their seats

Jessica Parks
Baxter Estates Mayor Nora Haagenson, Port Washington North Mayor Bob Weitzner and Flower Hill Deputy Mayor Brian Herrington are just a few of the incumbents who won re-election on Tuesday. (Photos courtesy of the candidates)

All of Port Washington’s unopposed candidates will return to their positions for at least another two years after Tuesday’s election.

Baxter Estates candidates received more votes than the candidates in Port Washington North and Flower Hill, and Baxter Estates was the only village to record any write-ins.

Village of Baxter Estates

Mayor Nora Haagenson received  79 votes and one write-in for trustee, Deputy Mayor Charles Comer had 84 votes and Trustee Chris Ficalora received 81 votes and 3 write-in votes for mayor.

Frank Russo received one write-in vote for mayor and Chuck Idol had two.

Haagenson, Comer and Ficalora all ran on the Oak Leaf Party ticket. In past interviews, all three officials cited the board’s ability to maintain minimal tax increases and the administration’s reduction in spending while continue to rise as a source of pride.

In the next two years, the Baxter Estates village board plans to address the village’s decaying retaining walls and to continue with beautification efforts by planting trees and cleaning up the parklands.

Haagenson will now serve her third term as mayor and Ficalora was re-elected for his third full term.

Comer has served on the board since around 2001, he said.

Village of Port Washington North

Port Washington North Mayor Bob Weitzner had 67 votes, Trustee Matthew Kepke came in with 62 votes and Trustee Sherman Scheff received 63 votes.

In their next term, the board plans to shift its focus to village infrastructure but Weitzner said that the enhancement of parks in the village will not halt.

The mayor, who has been in his post since 2005, said in past interviews that village officials are constantly seeking new art installations for Bay Walk Park and have already pre-funded three additional amenities that he is to announce after the election.

“We are delighted that the Village of Port Washington North had the confidence and support to elect us for another two years,” he said in a telephone interview. “We will continue to work to ensure Port Washington North is the best place to live on Long Island and we are excited about the projects and initiatives we have in store for the next term.”

He encouraged any residents who had feedback for the board to never hesitate to contact them.

“We would love to hear from you,” he said.

Kepke, who was elected to his third full term, thanked all of the residents who voted for the Port North party, which consisted of all three elected candidates.

“I look forward to another two years of working with my fellow board members to further improve our village, continuing to respond to the challenges of being a government of limited resources and many needs and to continue to advocate for the best interests of our residents and businesses,” Kepke said. 

Scheff, who will now serve in his sixth term, said he wanted to thank the residents for their support and the board will continue to work for the residents as they always have in the past.

Village of Flower Hill 

Deputy Mayor Brian Herrington, Trustee Jay Beber and Trustee Frank Genese each received 50 votes.

Village Justice Dennis Reisman was re-elected with 49 votes.

In past interviews, all three trustees said they enjoy serving on the Flower Hill village board because their village is a great place to live and they hope to preserve that.

Beber, who will now serve in his second full term, said he is honored to be re-elected and pleased to continue working hand in hand with his fellow trustees.

“It is the residents that make Flower Hill a wonderful place to live and I am grateful for the opportunity to serve,” he said.

Herrington, who was elected to his third full term on the board, extended his thanks to all the residents who came out and voted.

“I look forward to working with our residents, the mayor, and the board to continue to make Flower Hill the best village to live in,” the deputy mayor said. 

Genese, who will now serve in his second full term, said he is honored to be re-elected as trustee and appreciates the support of the residents of Flower Hill. 

“There is much to do moving forward, we need to continue our efforts to provide a safe environment for all, to continue to improve the Village infrastructure and enhance the physical appearance of our public spaces,” he said via email. “It is also important to keep our tradition of being resident-forward, making sure all of our constituents have a voice in our processes and that we as a Village operate with transparency.”

He said Flower Hill is an amazing place to live and the board wants to continue to improve it.

Share this Article